Little Things

I’m still trying to write, trying. So today I thought I’d share something a little insightful about myself. Sharing about the self is the most difficult thing to do as it means laying yourself vulnerable to outside intrusion and judgement. 

DSC_0654

Nature, or rather being out in nature, always makes me feel a little brighter inside. There is something about watching ducks gliding across a lake, sparrows squabbling on a bird feeder, and geese tending their young that just fills my being with a swarming of warmth and joy.

This isn’t a sudden found realisation born from searching for light in the cloudiness, I have always felt like this. Even when times are dreary and heaviness hangs in my chest like lead laden concrete, watching nature’s wonders always brings sunshine. 

I wish I could really explain it, or maybe actually it is better that I cannot. I do believe that somethings just are and don’t need to be analysed and dissected into tiny pieces. This is the one part of my psyche that I have never questioned, doubted or sought to find a reason as to why. 

So I am looking forward to spring, and the beginning of new journeys and especially watching last years chicks starting on with their own adult lives.

I am looking forward to the little things, and most importantly I am looking forward.

 

Jabs

 

One thought on “Little Things

  1. I’m always grateful for the little things. Nature is beautiful, and I see her as an eternal goddess. Time is meaningless to her, everything in nature lives in the now, this perfect moment, one perfect moment after another. Your post came at a time when the messages of “live in the now” keep hitting me left and right at rates I am unable to ignore. It’s easy to forget, isn’t it? Forget, get stressed, I look ahead, I look back, and yet each “now” is what adds to the chain of the past and shapes the future. Sometimes I am so lost in what I think “should” happen, that I forget that what I think “could” happen (not “should”) is just one of the many eventualities and stressing over what I have no control over, is just a waste of energy. And thus, I forget to appreciate fully each moment, so thank you for that reminder.

    PS. No judging. Never judging.

    Like

Leave a Reply

