You Can’t Know

images

You can’t know what it takes for me
To say that I’ll always be there
When a heart was cleaved to form bended knees
By the scalpel that dissected through bone

You don’t understand how I stand by
And watch you rush off on to a new dawn
With a soul now blistered by this insistence
From the iron that can’t cauterise the open wounds

You won’t scrutinize the lies that I hide
As you smile with delightful glee and a song
This mind conflicted by a desire inflicted
And the mace that destroyed an abeyant dream

You can’t ever see this I’ve some to be
Because I waited in such hope you’d return
A heart full of disease choking on a smog wheeze
By the suffocation of bated breath forever on hold

JS
25/2/13

Leave a Reply

